We Must Do Better


“None of us alone can save the nation or the world. But each of us can make a positive difference if we commit ourselves to do so.” — Cornel West

June 10, 2020

Dear Friends,

Two weeks ago, our city and our communities were shaken by the murder of George Floyd.  Today, our hearts are heavy with grief for a life cut short by injustice and indifference, for a family that must endure the pain of a loved one lost, and over the systemic racism that has plagued our culture for centuries.

At Historic Saint Paul, we are committing ourselves to join the work of dismantling systemic racism and promoting racial equity.  We acknowledge that while we say this, we clearly have not done enough, and have much work to do.  We have fallen short and are determined to listen, learn and change. 

As much as we work to preserve buildings, it has never been just about them. It is about supporting community, telling its stories, and improving the health and well-being of its members.  We save buildings to create places to live, for small businesses to thrive and for neighbors to know and support each other.  We must do better.

We believe we have an opportunity to marshal our resources and capacity to support the community in important conversations and actions necessary to move forward and heal.  There is a long road ahead to rebuild our cities and rebuild trust. We are committed to doing that work. 

We can all begin by looking to history for a deeper understanding of ongoing racial injustice in our city and state. We must also elevate the stories of our African American neighbors and community leaders, who tirelessly continue the fight for equity and justice.  

We encourage you to join us in this work by reading/watching/participating in the following:

Let's all commit to ensuring this important moment leads to real change. 

Carol Carey, Executive Director
Elyse Jensen, President
Rita Goodrich, Vice President
Amanda Welliver, Treasurer
Paul Moe, Secretary
Steven Buetow, Board Member 
Tyler Lueck, Board Member
Kate Pearce, Board Member
Andrew Rorvig, Board Member
Tom Tarnow, Board Member
Dave Thune, Board Member